2017 Renault Clio Cup China Series, Round One : Frank Yee took Champion

Source:Renault Clio Cup China Series   Post:2017-09-16
2017 Renault Clio Cup China Series is having its first round this weekend in Zhuhai International Circuit, beginning from the afternoon of Sep. 16th, 2017.

Based on the qualifying score,, driver 26, Yang Chunlei won the pole position with the fastest single lap speed(1:54.285s). Driver 99, Frank Yee got the second place with a speed which was only 0.25 seconds behind. Jeff Zhou and Donny Yu  would start in the second row with 3rd and 4th ranking.The Race began after five red lights went off. In the beginning, Yang Chun Lei made a smooth start from pole position, led into the first turn , and successfully kept Frank Yee behind. After them, Donny Yu, who started from the 4th, tried to surpass Frank Yee from inside. However, as a result of not taking the best driving path, after the first turn, Donny was still No.4. And the 3rd one, Jeff Zhou, was meeting the same situation here. Trying to take lead by cutting through No.1 and No.2, on the other hand, he fell behind by losing his own position to David Lau.

On the first 3 laps David Lau Stayed close to Frank Yee and kept a short catching-up distance to the 1st Yang Chun Lei. These three cars made 1st group. But on the 4th lap, Yang Chunlei made a serious mistake and his car got off the track. Though he quickly returned, he became 3rd, as he was passed by Frank Yee and David Lau.

   On the 5th lap, David Lau went wrong in the last turn and slipped off the track and became 4th after coming back. And now the ranking went as follows: Frank Yee、Yang Chun Lei、Jeff Zhou and David Lau.

    Frank Yee always kept the lead, and on the 8th lap,he was 4.4seconds faster than Yang Chun Lei. If there is no accident, he would claim the win. On the 9th lap, driver 7 Sebastian Chan and driver 8 Andy Chan battled fiercely around Turn No.3. Driver 8 almost hit driver 7’s tail with its head by late braking, and both cars were a little out of control. After serious fight, Andy Chan seemed going low and retired the car by rushing off the track.

  Finally driver 99, Frank Yee kept his leading position to last and won the champion. Yang Chun Lei and Jeff Zhou took 2nd and 3rd place respectively. 4th and 5th went to David Lau and He Yu.